Skip to content

Perspective

December 17, 2016

13458668_10100702355955469_1866837650101728186_o

I tend to wallow. I fancy myself a melancholic, so I just go with it. Then something happens that snaps me back to reality. Unthinkable events in the lives of friends, playing at a youth group grieving the loss of a fellow student who took his own life, and even the events in Aleppo this week have all given me a big dose of perspective.

Here’s the thing about wallowing – it’s inherently selfish. There’s a time to grieve, of course, and 2016 hasn’t exactly been my banner year. However, my troubles are nothing compared to what others have gone through in the last 48 hours.

So what can we do when we see ourselves beginning to wallow? Here’s a working list:

  • Do something for someone else. Pray, call someone who could use a friend – do something that doesn’t feed your pain.
  • Read something encouraging. I’m about to crack open Creativity, Inc. by Ed Catmull.
  • Focus on something tangibly productive. For example, my kitchen is a wreck. Cleaning it will give me something simple and tangible to be proud of. Plus, it doesn’t require all that much time.
  • Pray. I’ll be honest; this one is pretty difficult for me. But, this takes the focus off myself and puts it on God.
  • Work out. I know, I know. But hey, the new year is right around the corner, and, as much as I hate to admit it, I never walk out of the gym feeling as sad as I did when I walked into it.
  • Write a blog with tips for what to do when you’re wallowing. Apparently this one works pretty well!

Life can be hard. There’s no shame in mourning the loss of someone or something valuable to you. But when the pain crosses over into wallowing, it’s time to get out of bed (even at 12:30pm like I did today) and do something.

What do you do when you feel yourself beginning to wallow?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2016 10:13 am

    Such great tips! Serving others by volunteering always snaps me back into correct thinking. Be well and God bless 💞

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      December 23, 2016 10:18 am

      I find myself focusing inward far too often! Thank you for the follow!

Leave a Reply

