Skip to content

fighting loneliness with gratefulness

November 19, 2016

Thanksgiving is usually a pretty tough holiday for me. I feel a keen sense of loneliness every year. I’m not sure why it’s this one in particular and not Easter, New Year’s Day, or Guy Faulks Day. [insert reader’s hysterical laughter here]

This year in particular will be a bummer. I thought I’d be engaged and spending the holiday with my future in-laws. But, if you know me or read this blog at all, you know that’s not happening.

This morning, as I stood in the shower, I felt myself starting to wallow in the perceived main of my circumstances. “I’m not married. I’m alone. The stupid snow screwed up my trip to Nashville this weekend. Why can’t anything ever go my way?”

Last time I checked, I live in America. I’m easily in the wealthiest 1% of people in the world. The statement “nothing ever goes my way” easily joins “I hope United is a great airline” and “I bet the third matrix movie is going to be excellent” among the most idiotic thoughts I’ve ever had.

So, I’m going to list out some things I’m grateful for today. Some are simple. Some are very meaningful. They all make me one of the luckiest people alive.

I’m grateful for parents who love, affirm, support, and encourage me no matter what.

I’m grateful for a sister who is my best friend, but won’t let me be an idiot when I’m down in the dumps.

I’m grateful for friends who check in on me, love me like siblings, and drop anything when I need them.

I’m grateful for “families away from families” – The Dekkers, Cochrans, and Lees. They have made my years in Minnesota more meaningful than I could have imagined.

I’m grateful for a home with running water, heat when it’s cold, and AC when it’s warm.

I’m grateful for a job that, though it’s not my dream position, challenges me, provides health insurance, and pays me pretty darn well.

I’m grateful for coffee. Lord, am I grateful for coffee.

I’m grateful for people who challenge my way of thinking, even when I go off about them in my blog.

I’m grateful for coworkers who make me laugh hysterically, and stand there silently when I throw out a ridiculous pun (as they should).

When it comes down to it, I’m far luckier than I deserve, and I want to focus on that more than the things I don’t think are going my way. Let’s make that our priority this week!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    November 19, 2016 4:46 pm

    Thankfulness trumps everything. Good job, son. Love you!

Leave a Reply

