Skip to content

Pending Vulnerability Hangover

June 20, 2016

I’ve been pretty discouraged the last couple months. Half marathon training has been going poorly, I’m tired all the time, my job has been pretty rough, and, well, there are plenty of little spiritual and relational things I could add to the list, too.

Yesterday I took time in the midst of a marathon church service day to sit down and peruse the first couple chapters of James. He’s practical, and he doesn’t pull any punches. As I read, I realized I’ve been focusing far too much on the results of my faith, rather than my faith itself. In fact, even when I’m thinking about faith, I’m not really even giving a nod to the object of my faith. Jesus is the reason for my faith. He’s my savior and my rock. He loves me when I feel unlovable, and accepts me when everyone else rejects me.

The half marathon isn’t the point. The point isn’t even the clean water, when it comes right down to it. The point of this life is to love God and love others. I run, because I want to show Jesus to those kids in a practical, life-giving way. I want to provide the opportunity for them to hear about Jesus. Heck, I just want them to live long enough for someone (me?) to get over there and tell them about him.

When I begin to view my struggles in terms of the ultimate point of life – Jesus – suddenly they don’t feel so daunting. Suddenly my craving for lasting relationship becomes a desire to serve another person. My cubicle becomes a place to encourage coworkers. My blisters become a means for telling the story of Jesus.

 

Shameless plug: Will you join me in giving clean water to children in Africa? I’m leaving work to go run, so you should head over to my Team World Vision page and give!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    June 20, 2016 5:44 pm

    That was a blessing to read…
    love you!

Leave a Reply

