Skip to content

On Trump and Real Christianity

March 2, 2016

This post is probably going to anger you.

There, now that we have that out of the way…

The largest group supporting Donald Trump in the GOP primaries is “evangelical Christians.” What exactly is an “evangelical,” you ask? Based on a national phone survey conducted in September 2015, the  National Association of Evangelicals defines an evangelical as one who ascribes to the following four core belief statements:

  • The Bible is the highest authority for what I believe.
  • It is very important for me personally to encourage non-Christians to trust Jesus Christ as their Savior.
  • Jesus Christ’s death on the cross is the only sacrifice that could remove the penalty of my sin.
  • Only those who trust in Jesus Christ alone as their Savior receive God’s free gift of eternal salvation.

The problem, however, is the complete disconnect between these beliefs and the values Donald Trump defends.

Here are actual quotes from Trump supporters who claim to be evangelical Christians:

“Why should we have to support someone else and then make our kids suffer, our families suffer?”

“I mean, it seems like we really go overboard to make sure all these other nationalities nowadays and colors have their fair shake of it, but no one’s looking out for the white guy anymore.”

“Hey, hey. Ho, ho. All the Muslims have to go!”

“Islam is not a religion. It’s a violent blood cult. OK? All they know is violence, that’s all they know.”

“What did we do in World War II? We put all the Japanese in internment camps… We had to do something with them.”

Here are some quotes from Trump himself:

“Donald J. Trump is calling for a total and complete shutdown of Muslims entering the United States.”

“I think apologizing’s a great thing, but you have to be wrong. I will absolutely apologize, sometime in the hopefully distant future, if I’m ever wrong.”

“26,000 unreported sexual assaults in the military-only 238 convictions. What did these geniuses expect when they put men & women together?”

“When Mexico sends its people, they’re not sending the best. They’re sending people that have lots of problems and they’re bringing those problems. They’re bringing drugs, they’re bringing crime. They’re rapists and some, I assume, are good people…”

And here are some things from the Bible:

“Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers…”

“…and the sojourner, the fatherless, and the widow, who are within your towns, shall come and eat and be filled…”

“When you reap your harvest in your field and have forgotten a sheaf in the field, you shall not go back to get it; it shall be for the alien, for the orphan, and for the widow…”

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

“Love the foreigner, therefore, for you were foreigners in the land of Egypt.”

“When a stranger sojourns with you in your land, you shall not do him wrong. You shall treat the stranger who sojourns with you as the native among you, and you shall love him as yourself, for you were strangers in the land of Egypt: I am the Lord your God.”

Shall I go on? Okay.

“You shall not oppress a sojourner. You know the heart of a sojourner, for you were sojourners in the land of Egypt.”

“There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”

“Then I will draw near to you for judgment. I will be a swift witness… against those who oppress the hired worker in his wages, the widow and the fatherless, against those who thrust aside the sojourner, and do not fear me, says the Lord of hosts.”

“Likewise, when a foreigner, who is not of your people Israel, comes from a far country for your name’s sake (for they shall hear of your great name and your mighty hand, and of your outstretched arm), when he comes and prays toward this house, hear in heaven your dwelling place and do according to all for which the foreigner calls to you, in order that all the peoples of the earth may know your name and fear you, as do your people Israel, and that they may know that this house that I have built is called by your name.”

I think I’ve made my point.

These people – who may very well be Christians – are certainly not living according to the beliefs they claim to hold. True Christians fight for the oppressed, welcome the poor, and give their resources joyfully. They don’t build walls, condemn “the other,” or openly mock entire races.

To my friends who don’t agree with me on the whole Jesus thing – this is not who we are. This is not what we stand for. We are literally commanded to do justice, love kindness, and walk humbly (Micah 6:8). Donald Trump and those who support him are the antithesis of who Jesus calls us to be. The rest of us are fighting for our voices to rise above the white noise of bigotry, hate, and oppression.

To my fellow Christians – we must lovingly yet firmly oppose our brothers and sisters who seem to think hate is the only answer. The time to ignore them has passed. We must stand for the truth, and do so with action, not passivity. We must serve the poor in our communities. We must give our resources freely and joyfully. We must set the example.

Let us remind everyone of our true calling – love.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    March 2, 2016 1:20 pm

    Good job, son!

  2. March 2, 2016 1:27 pm

    Yes Sir!

  3. aunt terry permalink
    March 2, 2016 2:28 pm

    well put Clayton, and I am not offended at all. Trump is such an embarrassment and I cringe when he opens his mouth for fear of what he will say next. I don’t disagree with everything he says though 99% of it is just wrong for so many reasons. God does command us to help people but he also expects us to use the brain he gave us and to discern how to best help those in need. lets say you see a homeless man on the street and you want to help him but as you approach him you notice he has a gun, you need to decide if you can help the man or not. that may not be the best way to show what I mean but I think you get what I am saying. we can’t just open our borders and say come in for a lot of reasons. there is so much more to this than just helping. we have to protect the American people and when we have so many of our vets living on the streets not to mention the thousands of other homeless people without health care, etc. that our government is not taking care of and now we want to welcome in how many more people? who is going to pay to help them? where are they going to be housed? etc. etc. etc. My heart says to help them because that’s what I believe God wants me to do but I do it with caution. I don’t know if I explained myself very well or not but I hope you get it. love you , aunt terry

Leave a Reply

