Skip to content

An Impossible Challenge

February 12, 2016

Salone2Last year I began to feel a stirring… a desire to lean into being part of something bigger than myself. I didn’t know what it was. Well, that’s not entirely true. You see, last summer I talked with a few people running for Team World Vision. One hadn’t run a day in her life, and another would never have considered himself a “runner.” Yet both of them tackled races last year.

I haven’t been able to shake the memories of those conversations.

Fast forward to last December. My girlfriend challenged  me to run a half marathon. I laughed. Then I realized Disney held half marathons. Then I laughed at the $300 registration fee. I didn’t think much about it again… until this week.

[non sequitur?]

I’ve been to West Africa. The people of Sierra Leone and The Gambia are among the kindest I’ve ever known. And they’re certainly the most grateful. I’ve wandered into villages filled with children sponsored by World Vision. I’ve watched them receive food, housing, and care. I’ve seen them drinking water they would not have had unless World Vision was working with them.

[not such a non sequitur]

Today I signed up for the Minnesota Half Marathon. Then I joined Team World Vision. I literally bought the t-shirt.

And I’m terrified.

I have no idea how to run. I’ve never run more than a mile at a time (once in high school and once in 2012 during a 5k). The idea of running 13.1 miles is daunting… impossible.

I’m terrified people are going to judge me. I’m a 277 pound man. I could fail. I’ve done it before.

But this is bigger than me. Really, it’s not about me at all. It’s about children in Africa. It’s about children who have no access to clean water. It’s about women who walk far more than 13 miles to obtain water for their families.

I can run for that.

Check out my Team World Vision page. Consider donating to the cause. Motivating a big guy to run is difficult. But seeing donations roll in for such a tangible cause will get my butt in gear!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

