Skip to content

Anxious Dreams

May 18, 2015

I’m a vivid dreamer.  Some are great; others are downright weird.  More often than not, they’re pretty terrible.

I’ve been through a lot over my 31 years on the Earth so far.  Broken relationships, my parents’ divorce, depression, weight and body image issues… there’s plenty to feed my dreams on restless nights.  I tend to relive particularly painful situations, replaying the worst parts, sinking into the deep pit of shame and regret.

Lately my dreams have revealed something entirely new – my deepest fears:  <deep breath… here goes…> abandonment and loneliness.

Whew, that wasn’t so bad, was it?

I wake up from these dreams actually believing they happened.  Of course, once the mental fog dissipates and my mind begins to wake up, it’s clear these events didn’t actually occur.  Yet, even now, 4 hours after waking up, I still can’t shake the emotion attached to last night’s dreams.

The thing is, if these dreams really are a glimpse into my deepest fears, then I can use them as a tool to address the fear and anxiety attached.  I  haven’t quite figured out how to do that yet.  Perhaps someday I will.  I certainly don’t want to waste an opportunity to become a healthier person!

How do you react when you have realistic nightmares?  How do you involve Jesus in the act of processing them?  Any advice for those of us who can’t shake the funk after a bad one?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

