Skip to content

Time to Surrender

April 23, 2015

Salone2

I’m not a giver.

Don’t get me wrong – I like to give.  I want to support missionaries, sponsor children overseas, and tithe…  as long as it doesn’t hurt.

I want to put money in my 401(k).  I want to pay off my student loans as quickly as possible.  I want to have “introvert nights,” when I don’t do a darn thing, and I do it alone.

I don’t like to give in a way that inconveniences me.  I’ve always fancied myself a giver, because giving money never really affects me.  Trusting God with my money doesn’t come easily, but, after raising support as a missionary for a few years, I don’t worry a whole lot about it anymore.  But, I guard my time viciously.  If it’s not planned, comfortable, or convenient, I don’t want to do it.

I don’t spend time with the poor.

I don’t serve at food-packing warehouses or soup kitchens.

I don’t go overseas much these days.

My time, it seems, has become an idol…

Jesus spent time with the poor.  It’s all but a requirement for salvation, as far as Scripture is concerned.  If I’m not loving the poor – sacrificially – and I’m not going to them, then I’m not following the Great Commission, and I’m certainly not representing Christ.

That’s all I have right now… I need to begin sacrificing my time.  What do you do to serve the poor and helpless of your community, country, and world?  What are you passionate about?  How and to whom do you give?  Let’s start changing our world!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2015 6:11 pm

    All right Clayton- so here is the deal. I’ve spent much of my life giving of resources instead of getting my hands dirty. That is what I realized this afternoon – I am not exposed to the poor, needy, destitute, etc. I box myself up into nice clean suburban life and rather than engaging with other groups I just go home, put on my PJ’s and send some money on occasion. What is worse is that when I see people who are poor (at least assuming they are) on the side of the road I think “I wouldn’t give money to them because they aren’t really poor” and then say “I’d rather give to a homeless shelter or food kitchen or whatever than give directly to that individual” but then never do that either. In order to live the gospel, I need to do something. Something real, long lasting, and genuine. Like have a friend who is needy. Force myself to encounter and understand the other side of life in our world. It doesn’t have to be in another country, and probably shouldn’t be for it to have lasting impact. Now, how do I do that?

  2. thebassoflife permalink*
    April 24, 2015 11:32 am

    Hmmm… I have a lot of thoughts! I think the key is finding something easy yet personal-bubble-stretching, like volunteering somewhere you will actually interact with the poor. Things like FMSC are great, but they’ve become a bit of an excuse for us suburbanites. We claim we’re serving the poor, and, in a way, we are, but we’re doing it in a way where we don’t have to get our (figurative) hands dirty. Spending time with the poor allows us to hear their stories, bringing it home and personalizing them.

    Also, I think the assumption that traveling to other countries doesn’t have a “lasting impact” is flawed. Sure, the impact on yourself may be greater than the impact left on the people to whom you’re going, but it’s no less important! I recommend every single Christian on this Earth travel to another country to experience another culture and interact with Christians who have a faith perspective entirely different from our own!

Leave a Reply

