Skip to content

Delete

April 7, 2014

Let’s face it, I love social media.  Twitter, Instagram, even Facebook, I’m on there all the time.  The app that had me really intrigued was FourSquare.  If you’re not familiar, it’s a check-in app that allows you to check in at various locations, see where your “friends” are at, and earn points for certain types of check-ins. The more points, the higher your ranking among your friends, and if you check into a location more than anyone else, you become the “mayor.”

It’s a pretty innocent app, a way for people to connect and have a little healthy competition.  But I quickly became obsessed.  I had to check in everywhere.  If I missed a check-in, I’d check my point total to make sure I hadn’t been surpassed by someone else.  I posted “Congrats, you’re the mayor” pics all over the place.  I thought I was pretty hot stuff.

But why?  Why did I post literally everything was doing on this little app?

 

People want to know what I’m doing.

People need to know what I’m doing

I’m that big of a deal.

I’m important.

People should want to know where I am.

 

Uh, what now?

Is it possible for someone to inflate themselves that much?  Apparently, because I did.  Point totals and mayorships were no longer reasons I used this app.  I used it because my adoring fans obviously needed to know everything I was doing.  I’m Clayton, the most interesting man in the world (stay thirsty, my friends).

Pride is a sneaky thing.  I allowed it to creep in and take over a harmless social media app, to the point it began defining who I am.  My self-worth was no longer defined by my skills, integrity, or, ya know, Jesus; it was defined by how many people saw how great I was.  And when people didn’t see that, I spiraled into an identity crisis.

 

Delete.

 

No more FourSquare.  It’s just not worth it.  It’s too much of a temptation to inflate my ego, and steals time from sharing in life with others.

Of course, you can check into places on Facebook, too, and at last count I’ve sent 10,400+ tweets over the last five years.  I didn’t say I was perfect.  But, I’m working on improving myself, one little bit at a time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

