Skip to content

A New Year with My Fat Equals Lame

January 2, 2013

If I had one phrase to describe last year’s weight-loss efforts, it would be “roller coaster.”

I started off the year weighing-in at 287.2 pounds, bottomed out at 255 pounds in August, and ballooned back up to 288.4 pounds as of January 1st, 2013.  That’s a net gain of 1.2 pounds.  Ridiculous.

I’m tempted to make some crazy goals for this year.  Lose 50 pounds by summer. Workout 6 times each week.  Eat no more than 1700 calories per day.  These are great goals.  But, if the last few years have taught me anything, it’s that the goals themselves don’t provide enough motivation to succeed.

I’m tired.  My knees hurt.  I have to inject myself with insulin every night.

I’m sick of this.

So, my goal for 2013 is to live a healthier lifestyle.  Sure, one of the great side effects is weight-loss, and believe me, I welcome that with open (and soon-to-be svelte) arms.  But, hitting a weight-loss goal doesn’t really accomplish anything if it’s not accompanied by lifestyle change.  And that’s what I really need – permanent lifestyle change.

So, I’ll continue to weigh-in every Monday morning, and I’ll get this blog going again; but I’m pursuing change this year.

I’ve also got a little wager going with a friend of mine.  Whoever loses the least amount of weight during the first three months of this year has to go to the Angels-Twins game on April 15th wearing a Yankees hat.  I can’t think of a worse punishment.

Bring it on, 2013.  I’m ready.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2013 5:34 pm

    Clayton – thanks for keeping it honest and real. Let me extend the olive branch to be an accountability partner in this with you. Two people with similar perspectives and desires to change are more powerful than one, right? Let me know my friend.

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      January 2, 2013 11:20 pm

      I’m in! Let’s make 2013 our year!

  2. Michael Taylor permalink
    June 21, 2013 12:00 pm

    You know, my brother Ryan who was 6′ and 430lbs dropped to 300lbs in a year on a diet of unlimited fruits&veggies, with limited everything else. He exercised too, but I don’t think he was pretty hardcore about it.

Leave a Reply

