Skip to content

A Single Word

November 30, 2012

Sometimes I find it difficult to trust God.  Okay, all the time.  I don’t know why, but trust does not come easily to me.  When circumstances change, my trust is shaken.  When finances are tight, my trust wanes.

When I woke up this morning my trust was virtually non-existant.  But then I read this:

Jesus said to her, “Woman why are you weeping?  Whom are you seeking?”  Supposing him to be the gardener, she said to him, “Sir, if you have carried him away, tell me where you have laid him, and I will take him away.”  Jesus said to her, “Mary.”  “Rabboni!” (which means Teacher).

Her name.  Simply her name.

With a single word Christ called out her trust, her love… her life.  Her despair was transformed to joy in an instant.  All that was weighing her down vanished immediately.  With excitement, astonishment, and probably a good dose of fear, she ran back to her friends to tell them the good news.  She has seen the Christ.

My response is a bit more like Thomas’.  He wasn’t there when Jesus showed himself to the rest of his friends.  “Unless I see in his hands the mark of the nails, and place my finger into the mark of the nails, and place my hand into his side, I will never believe.”  I need to feel Christ’s love, see the evidence of it in my life.

Jesus’ response?  “Put your finger here, and see my hands; and put out your hand, and place it in my side. Do not disbelieve, but believe.” He never chastised Thomas for doubting.  He didn’t belittle him and cry out “O ye of little faith!”  He simply drew him near, offered the proof, and beckoned him to accept the truth.

I wish I didn’t need proof.  I wish I could simply draw on my experience and believe.  But Christ still meets me, draws me to himself.  In his way, he calls me out, and greets my distrust with truth.  And that’s all I need.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

