Skip to content

An Open Letter of Apology to My Friends on Both Sides

November 7, 2012

I am a Christian, first and foremost.  Everything else is second.  But, I’m afraid that many of us Christians have forgotten that.  In fact, I’m certain of it.  I have seen such hateful vitriole spewed on Facebook, Twitter, and various blogs that, even though my guy won yesterday, this morning I find myself grieving.

 

To my Democrat friends who don’t identify themselves with the Christian faith:

I’m sorry.

We have failed you.  We have called you morons, idiots, fags, queers, murderers, d***s, p*****s, commies, and fascists (and that’s just what my friends on Facebook and Twitter have called me, one of their brothers).

This IS NOT how we are supposed to live.  Jesus told us to ” love your neighbor as yourself” (Mark 12:31).  The Apostle Paul wrote, “For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another. (Galatians 5:13).

Furthermore, we haven’t defended the cause of Christ in the world.  As Christians we are called to care for “the least of these.”

 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’ And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”

Is that surprising to you?  If so, it’s proof that we’ve failed.  Instead of putting others ahead of ourselves, we have selfishly accused and condemned those with whom we disagree, all in the name of a belief system we have grossly misunderstood.

Our goal is to love and serve everyone, not just those on our side of the aisle.  But, you’d never know that just from talking to us.  We have failed you.

 

To my Republican friends who don’t identify themselves with the Christian faith:

I’m sorry.

We have failed you.  As democrats we have demonized you.  We’ve called you selfish, nut-jobs, crazies, and greedy.  We have characterized you as out-of-touch, rich, war-mongering hypocrites.  We haven’t loved you.  We haven’t acknowledged your desire to make America better.  We’ve latched onto sound bites and percentages in an effort to maintain our caricature of you and further our own political and social goals.

“Judge not, that you be not judged.  For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you.  Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?  Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye?  You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.”

We all enjoy making money and the freedom that financial independence offers.  We all give some of our time and money to causes greater than ourselves, regardless of political affiliation.  We have not provided a true and convincing example of what Christ taught.  We have failed you.

 

It’s so easy to demonize our enemies.  But living the Christian life isn’t easy, nor should it be.  We look foolish.  In fact, our scriptures tell us to expect that!  “For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” (1 Corinthians 1:18)

Our job is to serve and love you.  We have failed.  We want another chance to show you what Christ really stood for, what he really did, and what we are called to do.

Will you forgive us?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2012 12:40 pm

    Well said, Clayton! I appreciate your candor, honesty, and bringing all the uproar and harshness to the side and getting back to respect and God’s commands. Our world needs more respect and less divisiveness, and I believe only God can restore our world. Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Faith permalink
    November 7, 2012 1:43 pm

    Wow, well said brother and so very true.

  3. November 7, 2012 3:57 pm

    Love this Clayton. I couldn’t have said it better.

Leave a Reply

