Skip to content

Grief and Hope

October 25, 2012

I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living!

I had this done back in March.  It’s my life verse, out in the open for all to see, an ever-present reminder of God’s goodness and the hope I have in him.

Even with it permanently etched into my skin, I often struggle to grasp onto hope.  It’s been a heavy week. Something I wrote a few weeks ago seemed to be a foreshadowing of this week’s grief.

My heart aches for Christ’s glory to spread around the earth;
My soul longs for the world to bow to him.

Oh Lord, how long?
How long before we are made right?
How long before my heart instinctively bends toward you?

What great worth is found in the people of this world,
Such beauty infused in your people.

Oh Lord, how long?

I hear the heartbeat of brokenness,
I feel the rhythm of the universe.

Oh Lord, how long?

Your bride is weak,
We long for the bridegroom.

Oh Lord, how long?

We play the whore,
We expose ourselves to anyone who will watch.

Oh Lord, how long?

Restore us, Father!
Incline our hearts to righteousness!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

