Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – September 17th Update

September 17, 2012

I’ve heard that developing a routine helps greatly when managing food intake.  It follows, then, that the lack of routine leads to unwise, unthoughtful choices.  And, wouldn’t ya know, the scale agrees.  I’m up 2 pounds this week, to 257.  No bueno.  I ate out a lot, consuming quite a bit of fast food on my way from one thing to another.  Of course, developing a meal plan before the chaotic schedule commenced would have greatly reduced my crappy-food-intake, but, I didn’t, and there’s the consequence.

This week, I have a plan.  And, admittedly, it involves some Lean Cuisines.  I know, I know, they’re not exactly a shining example of health and wellness.  But, they’re low-cal and easy to make (read “microwave”) for a single guy.  Now, I’m also hoping to make some enchiladas at some point this week, too.  I just need to find the time to do so.  The goal for this week is to only go out to eat twice.  Why do I allot the margin for that?  Well, I’m a pretty social guy, and most social interaction involves sharing a meal.  So, allowing for a “fun” meal or two during the week just makes sense.  Plus, I’ve found that if I restrict myself too much one week, I’ll binge the next, and that’s just counterproductive.

Now, the real challenge will be next week.  Our organization’s staff conference is taking place, and we’ll all be traveling up to Camp Lebanon (for those non-Minnesotans, it’s not actually in Lebanon, unfortunately).  Along with weeks at camp come weeks of camp food.  Plus, I’m sure there will be plenty of between-meal snacking.  So, self-control will be the name of the game.  I’m confident I can resist at least some of the temptations, and can escape relatively unscathed.  🙂

The other key is developing consistency with my gym visits.  Because, well, there isn’t any.  I’ll be heading there after small group tonight, then again tomorrow evening after work/before weekly plans with friends, then Thursday and Friday after work.  Four times this week.  That’s my goal.  So, feel free to hold me accountable to that!

Okay, time to get to it.  The journey toward sexiness continues.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Drie permalink
    September 21, 2012 4:35 pm

    Keep going!!! You’re doing a great job. The time I was the most successful with weight loss were the times I was keeping track of everything I consumed every day and not allowing myself to go over 1750 calories per day. I was also tracking my gym visits and going at least twice a week.
    My suggestion to you is to use a diet and exercise tracking app every day.

  2. Wendy M. permalink
    October 5, 2012 6:10 pm

    Very nice entry! Don’t discount those Lean Cuisines, they are not exactly the greatest, but the portion control is vital, and getting used to that size of meal is important to success. Training yourself to notice that you are full after a smaller amount goes a long way towards eating right. I also agree with the gym idea, twenty five minutes on the elliptical every other day keeps my appetite in check and my metabolism chugging along. I lost 60 lbs two years ago and have lost 17 in the last two months just doing some simple things. Nice blog! Encouraging and honest, rare 🙂

Leave a Reply

