Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – April 16th Update

April 16, 2012

Well, I fell off the wagon this week. No gym. Lots of unhealthy eating. I didn’t gain anything, but I didn’t lose anything, either. Bah, suck. There’s plenty to lose. I’m just being lazy.

For me, getting to the gym is the catalyst for everything. If I get to the gym, I’m motivated to eat healthily simply because I don’t want all the work to end up being useless. One trip to the gym leads to a healthy day of eating, then another trip to the gym, etc.

Here’s the other thing:  I want my life to reflect the fruit of the Spirit, one of which is self-discipline.  Titus 2 says this:

Older men are to be sober-minded, dignified, self-controlled, sound in faith, in love, and in steadfastness.

Self-discipline is the mark of maturity.    Paul writes this in 1 Corinthians:

Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.

This is what I want my life to reflect – self-control, discipline, godliness.

So, I had a protein shake for breakfast, and I’m about to heat up a Lean Cuisine for lunch.  I know, I know, Lean Cuisines aren’t that healthy.  Cooking healthy meals is the next step.

I’m at 273 this morning.  The goal is to be at 269 by April 30th.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

