Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – March 26th Update

March 26, 2012

And another one’s gone ,and another’s gone; another one bites the dust.

Just in case you haven’t caught on, I lost another pound this week, bringing me down to 274.  I was hoping for more, but I’ll take it.

That leads me to this week’s realization (they seem to happen almost every week, now): I need to celebrate my progress, any progress.  I’m kind of an all-or-nothing guy.  “Go big or go home.”  So, if I don’t post a big number, I tend to get down on myself.  My first reaction isn’t, “Hey, I lost something this week!” but, “Aw man, I could have done better.”  Even though the latter is probably true, I can’t dwell on it, because it only brings me down.  Instead, I must celebrate the loss, using it to build momentum into another good week.  Because, let’s be honest, any week I loose any amount of weight is a good week.

This Saturday my buddy Sean and I are running our own little ghetto indoor triathlon.  Ten minutes in the pool, thirty on the bike, and twenty on the treadmill (I’ll be doing one of my Couch 2 5k interval training runs during the treadmill portion of the tri).  I’m a bit intimidated, but I’m going to kick it’s butt. 🙂

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2012 10:04 am

    One thing that helped me was to look at my weight loss over a period of two weeks, instead of just one. I tend to have a 2-3 pound loss one week, followed by a .5-1 pound loss the next. I got discouraged at those lower weeks until I started looking at it for two weeks. Just something that helped me out. Keep up the good work.

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      March 26, 2012 10:36 am

      Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. March 26, 2012 3:03 pm

    Yes, celebrate the times when you’re moving in the right direction! Good luck on your journey and I look forward to following your progress. Follow my blog or contact me for advice to help you along the way. I am a health coach and would love to help!
    healthcoachmeg.wordpress.com
    healthcoachmeg@gmail.com

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      March 26, 2012 9:59 pm

      Thanks, Meg. I appreciate your support!

Leave a Reply

