Skip to content

My Church, My Family

March 22, 2012

We had quite a bit of fun at church this weekend.  Probably too much, actually.  Check out the video below to see what I mean.

The most surprising thing, though, is just how much it brought us all together.  You see, we have 15,000ish people show up across 5 campuses every weekend.  Each campus has its own staff, musicians, and, well, identity.  The core staff do a great job of casting the vision of being “One church, five campuses,” but it’s easy to feel like individual churches.

But this weekend… man, this weekend, we were one church.  Last year we started a tradition: Create and perform silly musical parodies to welcome back the spring.  Each campus performs, simulcasting their performance to all the others, live.  The weekend is all about laughter and celebration.

And the laughter brings us together as one community: Eagle Brook Church.

Facebook, Twitter, and all our cell phones were going crazy all weekend as we cheered each other on, posting videos, making silly comments, and just flat-out laughing at each other.  The sense of community was so overwhelming, the camaraderie almost palpable.

I made new friends this weekend, just because I was performing a silly dance.  I’m actually going to see a movie tonight with a bunch of EBC staff I’ve only ever met on Twitter, primarily this weekend!  But we’re all part of the same church; the same community; the same family.

I’ve thought about moving out of Minnesota in the past.  But, this week I realized something: The main reason I stay here is because of my church.  I believe so much in the vision, mission, and strategy that I don’t think I could leave.  I cherish the community so much, the relationships I’ve built as part of the music, high school, and prayer teams that I doubt I could ever make such a move.

My friend Bryan once preached a message on the topic of committing to a church community, challenging us to think about it just as much, if not more, than other considerations when pondering a geographical move.  That was such an earth-shattering perspective.  Everyone talks about leaving their families, schools, or ideal neighborhoods, but I’ve never heard of someone citing their church family as a legitimate reason to stay put.

So here I am, a genuine (and legal) resident of Minnesota, running ahead with Eagle Brook – my family – never looking back.

Spring Break at EBC from Eagle Brook Church on Vimeo.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    March 22, 2012 2:38 pm

    Thanks for staying, brother

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      March 22, 2012 2:39 pm

      Thanks, Mark! I’m so blessed to be able to work and worship with you guys!

  2. Joel permalink
    March 22, 2012 4:32 pm

    I totally agree. A few years ago, talking about a church familiy wouldn’t make sense to me. Now it is second only to my immediate family. Why else would I volunteer for weekends that might otherwise be spent with extended family, which I don’t see that often anyway. I’d rather spend time with those I feel connected with. SLP has become that kind of place for me.

Leave a Reply

