Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – March 19th Update

March 19, 2012

Well, I’m down another pound this week, weighing in at 275.  Slow and steady is the name of the game, apparently.  I had a pretty apathetic week.  I had a ton of other stuff going on, and I just didn’t prioritize my diet and exercise.  In fact, I never even went to the gym.  I know, ridiculous, right?  I chose the path of ease and comfort, not the one that leads to health and weight loss.  I was pretty frustrated with myself this morning.  But then, I realized, it’s a new week.  I have a new start.  I can make different choices.  So, I’ve scheduled in my workouts for the rest of the week.

Monday – 9-10pm
Tuesday – 9-10am
Wednesday – 7-8am
Thursday – 5:30-6:30pm
Friday – 7-8am
Saturday – rest day
Sunday – either 1-2pm or 8-9pm, depending on my schedule

If I get this schedule solidified in my mind, I won’t waver from it (that’s one of those mind games I’ve been able to play).

I have 2 weeks to lose 4 pounds in order to hit my goal of 271 by the end of the month.  I’m also running a mini indoor tri with my buddy Sean on Saturday, March 31st – 10 minutes in the pool, 30 minutes on the bike, and 20 minutes on the treadmill.  So, I need to get my butt in gear, and make sure there’s less of it joining me for the tri, too!

Planning my meals in advance is also huge for me.  By scheduling time for meal prep I actually eliminate time for meals out.  Funny how that works, huh?  Most of it is simple: protein shakes for breakfast, Lean Cuisines and baked chips for lunch, and cooking something up for dinner.  Tonight I’ll be whipping up some of my mom’s amazing broccoli slaw.  It’s pretty simple, and the recipe will last me about 3 meals, and will only have about 350 calories per meal.  It’s the perfect dinner, because it’s primarily veggies (broccoli, carrots, cabbage), along with low-cal dressing (Ken’s Asian Sesame, so good!), sunflower seeds (protein), and a small amount of dry ramen noodles (gotta have some crunchy texture in there).  A couple years ago I actually had this for lunch every day for about a month.  It’s fantastic.  Okay, enough about the slaw.

I have a plan.  It’s important to have one.  Without it, I will fail, plain and simple.  So, here we go.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

