Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – March 5th Update

March 5, 2012

Well, this week could have gone better. I’m even at 277. No loss.  It was a pretty rough week for me emotionally.  I won’t go into details, but I ended up playing a lot of head games with myself this week, and it showed on the scale this morning.

So, why in the world do I turn to food during emotional rough patches?  It’s easy.  Plain and simple.  Turning to food is much easier than facing the emotion and dealing with it directly.  Cheeseburgers always accept you.  They don’t make you face into any pain.  Of course, they cause a great deal of disappointment when you step onto the scale, too.

So, today I get back to work.  I signed up for the Maple Grove 5k on Friday afternoon.  It takes place on Saturday, May 12th, which means I have 68 days to train.  I start training tonight.  I’m pumped, and pretty nervous, as I haven’t even run a mile since freshman year of high school.  But, I’m determined, and I’m doing it.  So there, anxiety; bring it on!

My goal for the month of March is to lose 6 pounds, getting down to 271.  Hopefully I can blow that out of the water!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 11:35 am

    Hey I know that I am not there to help you, but I would be more than willing to help where I can. Backup a minute…I too was a youth pastor and I used to be a runner. Like yourself I feel the need to lose weight and would love to run a 5k. Check out my blog and if you want we can do this thing together. It is always nice to know you have people rooting for you.

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      March 6, 2012 11:51 am

      That sounds like a fantastic idea! Love the blog. Let’s get the encouragement going and do this!

Leave a Reply

