Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – February 27th Update

February 27, 2012

Well, I lost 1.4 pounds this week, which brings me down to 277.  This was my goal for the month of February, so I’m pretty stoked I met my goal.  But, after the 4.5 pound loss last week, I can’t help but be a bit disappointed.

I had a pretty hard week, and I learned a pretty valuable lesson through it: New habits take weeks to form, but just one meal lacking in self-control can bring the old habits right back into my life.  Tuesday night was my scheduled “free meal” with a buddy of mine.  We went to Malone’s up in Maple Grove to enjoy buffalo chicken wraps and waffle fries.  I ate a little less than I normally would, and felt pretty terrible afterward.  That’s good, because it means my body was getting used to real food, and not the crap I used to shovel into it.

The next day, I focused on cutting back to my normal portions, and even had a spinach salad.  But, when the opportunity came to hit up the Blue Door for a Juicy Lucy, I jumped right onboard.  Not only did I get a Bacon Blucy, but I added onion rings to it and invited the cajun fries along for the ride. They also brought their friend ranch dressing with them.  All in all, a crazy meal, probably thousands of calories, and a great justification for investing in some Pepto Bismol.

On Thursday I grabbed Chipotle for dinner, and Friday was a total wash.

One simple meal led to a string of poor choices, and the scale showed it this morning.  Now, I spent a half-hour on the elliptical every morning last week, and that helped me out a ton, I’m sure.  But, my poor choices destroyed what could have been another monumental week.

So, what am I going to do about it?  Well, I think I need to eliminate that one weekly “free pass” meal, at least until the good habits have more time to settle in and become the new norm.  Of course, I can’t eliminate nights out with friends.  But, I can switch up the way I view these times, and establish them as social times, not social eating times.  By now most of my friends are aware of my journey, and can even serve as points of accountability.

Funny example: our church has a snack bar on the weekends called “Volunteer Central,” and folks bring in all sorts of goodies, both healthy and terribly unhealthy.  My friends Jack and Becky have literally slapped my hand if they see me grabbing a donut instead of fruit, or cookies instead of a small portion of meat and cheese.  Plus, whenever I go over to their house for dinner, they make something healthy.  We’re able to hang out and enjoy meals together, but in a healthy way.

So, I journey onward.  I’m shooting for a 6 pound loss during the month of March.  On March 31st my friend Sean and I are running an unofficial, abbreviated indoor triathlon, (1o minutes in the pool, 30 minutes on the bike, 20 minutes on the treadmill), so I have something to work toward.

Let’s get moving!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 12:52 pm

    Keep at it! Try moving towards a local diet – hitting the farmer’s market gets you out of the house and active, and will help move your diet to fruits and veggies. Also give cooking ahead for the week a shot – recipes like this Carrot Soup (http://theslowlowdown.com/2012/02/14/the-week-there-were-lots-of-carrots/) are low calorie, healthy, and inexpensive. It makes a great lunch for a few days. Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

