Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – February 20th update

February 20, 2012

Well, it’s been a while.  And, like I’ve said many times in the past, if I’m not posting, it means I’m not making any progress.  But, this week was different, and I’m super pumped about it.  I lost 4.5 pounds!

Here are a few things that weigh 4.5 pounds:

 

Yes, I lost a puppy this week.

There are a few things that led to this loss.

  1. I’ve been seeing a counselor regarding the way I turn to food in response to various emotional triggers.  Turns out I have a pretty strong longing to be loved and accepted (yup, I’m the only one), and when I don’t feel loved and accepted – for whatever reason – I turn to food.  In some screwed up way, I believe food will love and accept me.  It’s there, no matter what. And, the guy at the McDonald’s drive-through window has never rejected me; at least not yet.  As I become more aware of what’s going on in my head, I’m able to lean into that emotion (the feeling of a lack of love and acceptance for who I am), give it over to God, and have a glass of water instead of a McChicken.
  2. I made a decision.  I sucked it up.  I got up early to spend some quality time with the elliptical.  I spent the extra time to assemble a spinach salad in the morning so that, when I felt like walking to the Super America next door to the office for a 44oz. Coke, I grabbed a salad instead.  (By the way, I can have about 6 of my spinach salads for the same amount of calories as one of those Cokes!)  I’ve honestly never been able to suck it up like that.  And I can see the benefit of it, now.

So today I start week 2.  The key for me today is not to celebrate my success with food.  I used to do that all the time, and it just created a huge hill for me to overcome to achieve a loss for the week.  So, instead of celebrating with food, I’m going to head to a show with a friend after small group tonight.  Social time with friends and great music is a far better reward than a burger and fries.  Plus, it won’t create extra work for me tomorrow morning!

Oh, also, I’m not going to post pictures any more.  It’s just embarrassing.  I’ll start posting pics once my six-pack emerges.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

