Skip to content

Earning the Right

February 16, 2012

I assume I have the truth.  When it comes to Jesus, I’m right, and you’re wrong.  I presume to have all the knowledge, and I walk into conversations with people seeking to share that knowledge.  I’m not trying to be pretentious or anything (at least I don’t think so).  But, I’m confident I have the truth.

Here’s the problem: This often lends itself to a lack of love for the person with whom I’m talking.  My time becomes more about the task than the friend him/herself; it’s about selfishness, not love.

God has placed immeasurable value on peoplenot my ability to share with them.  God loves people.  He placed me on this planet to do the same.

I want to invest in people.  I don’t want to have an agenda whenever I speak with someone.  I don’t want to walk into a situation assuming I have all the answers.  I want to love people.  I want to serve people.  I want to listen to them.

There’s an idea, let them speak for a while about what they believe.

I once heard Greg Boyd speak about evangelism, and he said something that stuck with me: “We must earn the right to share the Gospel with a person.”  Merely meeting someone for coffee a couple times doesn’t give me the right to be heard by another person.  Investing in relationship – serving, walking through life with someone, doing what Christ did – that gives me the right to share.

Think about it.  If someone you just met started questioning your beliefs, everything around which your worldview has been built, you’d probably laugh at them, right?  But what if that person had stayed up all night with you after your mother died?  What if that person had picked up some groceries for you when times were tough?  I’d listen to that person.

The Holy Spirit draws people to Himself.  We’re called to love.  Let’s do our part.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 12:42 pm

    C $$- You know I’m not a religious man, but I LOVE your take on this. At least your heart is in the right place. 🙂

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      February 16, 2012 1:15 pm

      Haha, thanks dude. I appreciate your thoughts, and our occasional conversations on this stuff. Just don’t ask me to “love on” you. Hah!

Leave a Reply

