Skip to content

A New Start for 2012

January 2, 2012

Well, unfortunately, 2012 is starting off much like 2011 did.  Last year I weighed in at 297.  This morning I weighed-in at 287.2.  I’m 10 pounds lighter, but that’s not where I was hoping to be, nor is it the lightest I’ve been over the last year.  I returned from Sierra Leone at 266.  Obviously, I was in Africa and was eating pretty little, so I couldn’t expect it to all stay off.  But, I was unwise, indulged in a few too many culinary luxuries, and ended up blowing back up.

But, I learned a pretty valuable lesson: Life-change isn’t situational.  I can’t expect to ride a season of forced reduced-food-intake.  I can’t even expect to ride a season of increased motivation.  That’s a great way to start (and probably one of the only real ways to start, unless your doctor chains you to a treadmill), but there must be more.  I must develop a habit of healthy living.  I mean, I don’t have to think about whether or not I’m going to eat during the day, right?  It’s a habit.  So, I need to create new habits surrounding what and when I eat.

Okay, so, I’m going to write updates every Monday, after I weigh-in, and also post a picture.  I’m pretty darn embarrassed by my appearance right now, but I want to try to get over it.  Getting all of this out in the open is big for me.

So, here goes nothing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

