Skip to content

Squandering His Inheritance – Reflections on the Prodigal Son, Part I

December 12, 2011

And he said, “There was a man who had two sons. And the younger of them said to his father, ‘Father, give me the share of property that is coming to me.’ And he divided his property between them. Not many days later, the younger son gathered all he had and took a journey into a far country, and there he squandered his property in reckless living.
Luke 15:11-13

 

The phrase “already, but not yet” has become a pretty popular way to describe the nature of the Kingdom of God.  We have a great hope for the future righting of all things, yet a wonderful present establishment of the Kingdom here on Earth, right now.  This hope is part of our inheritance, something God gives us now, yet also withholds until the inauguration of his ultimate reign.  As an adopted son of God, this hope is my inheritance.

Sometimes I think about this story, and a wave of pride flows over me.  “I would never do something like this to my Father, dishonoring him in such a cruel way.”  Yet, just like the prodigal, I squander my inheritance.  I continue to sin.  I continue making stupid decisions, living a life of idolatry.  I continue acting in a way that boasts “God, I wish you were dead so I could have my inheritance and spend it the way I want to, now.”

How do you squander your inheritance of the hope of the coming Kingdom?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

