Skip to content

Identity

December 2, 2011

The seventy-two returned with joy, saying, “Lord, even the demons are subject to us in your name!”  And he said to them, “I saw Satan fall like lightning from heaven.  Behold, I have given you authority to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall hurt you.  Nevertheless, do not rejoice in this, that the spirits are subject to you, but rejoice that your names are written in heaven.
Luke 10:17-20

 

Have you ever gotten together with a friend after a mission trip?  I love seeing a friend walk up to me, a huge smile plastered across his face, and hear him say “Dude, you’ll never believe the crazy stuff we just did!”  I could sit for hours and listen to his stories.

That’s basically what the disciples were doing here.  I’m not sure what the Aramaic word for “dude” is, but it was probably used pretty often in the hours that followed their return.  And I don’t know about you, but I wish I could have been around to see what those 72 disciples did.  Here’s a group of guys that have been hanging out with Jesus for quite some time, watching him heal the sick, blind, mute, and crippled.  They must have seen some pretty crazy stuff to be so excited to share it with Jesus upon their return.

I’ve been to some pretty crazy places in my life.  I’ve seen Muslims do a one-eighty and accept Jesus as their Savior in Sierra Leone.  I’ve seen spirits begin oppressing people when we arrived at the Blue Mosque in Istanbul.  I’ve even been given the temporary gift of healing when ministering to a man while living with 6,000 hippies in the forest of Wyoming.  I’ve got some pretty cool stories to tell!  But, I think what Jesus is saying to his disciples here is that none of it matters, ultimately, when compared to our identity in Christ.

You see, I am not Clayton the Healer,” or “The Discerner”; I am a child of God, one whose name is written in the Book of Life.  Sure, God has given me the opportunity to be part of some pretty amazing things, but the purpose of those experiences isn’t to bolster my identity here on earth; it is to deepen my identify as a Son of God.  Ultimately, I am the one who benefits from these things, because they create such a deep bond and belief that I am God’s beloved.

What experiences have you had that have deepened your identity in Christ?  Do you have any crazy stories that show Christ’s goodness in your life?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 5, 2011 9:53 pm

    Awesome post, dude.

Leave a Reply

