Skip to content

Apathy

November 30, 2011

I read an article on the Reject Apathy website this afternoon that completely destroyed me.  It’s about Pastor Kim Seung-Un, a South Korean pastor who has taken to the high seas to help North Koreans take refuge in South Korea.  He is risking everything to help rescue families from a life of oppression and torture.  James Carter, the author of the article, calls him “Robin Hood.”

I long to fight for justice.  My heart beats for those who are oppressed, for those whose freedom will only come if I choose to get my butt off the couch and do something about it.  And yet I sit.  I eat.  I drive a car that runs well.  I hit up the grocery store when I run out of food.  And every once in a while my heart bleeds when I read a blog like this one.

So, what am I going to do about it?  Jury’s still out on that one.  But it has me thinking.  I want to be part of something bigger than myself.

Do you participate in social justice causes?  If so, what are they?  How can we help each other?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 9, 2011 10:21 pm

    Looking forward to reading more. Great blog post.Thanks Again. Will read on…

Leave a Reply

