Skip to content

Cookies for Life

October 31, 2011

I had an interesting revelation last week, as I climbed onto the elliptical machine at L.A. Fitness.  I’m going to be climbing onto that machine for the rest of my life.  I have health issues and I’m overweight, which means that food and exercise are constant struggles.  However, I had never considered the fact that it will always be a struggle.  I will always struggle to find the motivation to stop at the gym on my way home.  I will always be tempted to have another cookie.  The sooner I come to grips with this fact, the better.

The problem is, I haven’t.  I eat at McDonald’s, somehow convincing myself that one day I won’t be tempted by the golden arches.  I skip the gym and drive straight home; “I’ll just go tomorrow.”  That’s not going to work.  I’m not going to lead a long and healthy life unless I win these daily battles.  And they are daily.  Not a day will go by without a temptation.  I need to internalize it and adapt to the new lifestyle I must live in order to survive.  It’s a matter of life and death.  Will I choose health, and thereby choose life?  Or will I continue to live in denial; that tomorrow I’ll change; that I’ll work out twice as hard next time; that I’ll skip the ice cream another day?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

