Skip to content

Another post on doubt

October 13, 2011

Do you ever struggle with doubt about your faith?  Someone asked me that the other day, and all I could do was give a little smirk.  I struggle with doubt.  A lot.  I know, it seems a bit odd to hear that from a missionary.  It’s kind of odd to say that as a missionary.  But, it’s true.

I often doubt the sufficiency of Christ.  I mean, could his death 2,000 years really be adequate to cover all my sins?  I have a lot of them.  I’m kind of a screw-up.  Other times I wonder whether God can really love me, given all the do-overs I’ve requested.  Clearly Jesus lets him know all the ways I fail every day (I’m convinced there’s a 1:1 with the Father on Jesus’ calendar every day just to discuss whether or not they’ll still let me be a missionary.  And it’s probably right after lunch.  No one likes a 1:1 after lunch).

And then sometimes God speaks back.  I know, it sounds weird, but it’s almost audible at times.  Today he said this:

I forgave David, didn’t I?  He killed a man to cover up sleeping with his wife.  Am I not enough to cover your sins?  They are many.  But, so were his.  He struggled.  He wept.  But he also danced.

That’s pretty darn encouraging, if you ask me.

How about you?  Do you struggle with doubt?  How has Christ spoken to you about your doubts?  Or has he?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 3:11 pm

    I think it is human nature. How could we not?
    Interesting though. Once I prayed for intervention and God sent someone to the door that said ” God told me to come over.”
    And yet, I still struggle. Not just with sin but, doubt.

  2. October 20, 2011 8:02 am

    *LIke this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

