Skip to content

Inspiration – Is that All We Need?

August 25, 2011

I like to read.  A lot.  But lately I’ve wondered why I read so much?  Is it because I like to read?  Am I looking for a good challenge from an inspiring author?  Or do I simply want to be known as the guy who reads a lot?  A bit of truth resides in each of those, I’d imagine.  However, I think I may have figured it out: I want to be inspired to action.  A nice inspirational read is worthwhile at times, but if it does not lead to action, what’s the point?  Can’t I just turn on the TV and find that? (this definitely inspires me to eat Doritos)

Steven Furtick’s new book Sun Stand Still gives me exactly what I’m looking for.  From a literary standpoint, it’s not much to look at.  It flows as his preaching does, and the words lose a bit without the inflection of the author’s voice, but the message is just as powerful.  Each sentence carries a certain weight, as if the subtext is screaming “Why are you sitting here reading a book?  Get up and pray for something crazy!”  Furtick has given me a passion, a belief that God still wants to use normal people to do abnormal things.  Can the sun stand still today?  It sure can, but we need to pray for it.

Heck, just take a look at Furtick himself and you’ll see just how powerfully God can use an audacious prayer.  But it’s the simplicity of his point that makes this idea of powerful prayer so accessible.  He’s not asking us to pray to be the next Billy Graham or Mama Maggie.  Rather, he implores us to pray for everyday miracles: a marriage healed from divorce, a father who has rejected Christ, and business committed to integrity and community development.  These aren’t eye-catching headlines, but they will change the world.

If you’re a person looking to reject the status quo – if you’re tired of asking God for “good days” and generic blessings, pick this book up!  After all, as Furtick says, “If the size of your vision for your life isn’t intimidating to you, there’s a good chance it’s insulting to God.” Even more importantly, if you’re not a Christ-follower and you’re wondering why Christians are sitting around while the world is crumbling, take a gander at this one and discover how you can change the world.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 11:50 am

    Preach it my brother.

Leave a Reply

