Skip to content

Am I Available?

August 15, 2011

Today I made my triumphant return to the gym.  And by “triumphant return” I mean “painful journey.”  But it’s not the workout I want to talk about, it’s what happened after that.  See, I have to come up with some kind of reward in order to actually get myself off the couch and onto the treadmill.  That reward is a nice long soak in the hot tub.  I know, it’s a pretty fantastic reward.  After a hard workout, I’m pretty exhausted, and all I want to do is find some hot water, by myself, close my eyes, and sit.  However, that’s not what God had in mind today.

There was an older woman already in the hot tub, and she was ready to chat.  She started off by asking me if I worked days.  Yeah, that’s what I thought, kind of a weird question.  Now, right here I had a choice: I could either say “yep” and close my eyes again, or I could actually explain what I do and why I was there at 4:00 in the afternoon.  Honestly, I wanted nothing less than to carry on a conversation, especially one that would inevitably lead to my occupation as a missionary, and the ensuing obligation to talk about spiritual things.  “Whatever, I’ll play,” I thought to myself, and away we went.  Turns out we know some of the same people, and we had quite a great conversation about churches and young people.  But that’s not all.  A few other people got into the hot tub during the conversation, and witnessed part of our conversation.  In fact, we were even able to show love to a woman with some mental disabilities after she was yelled at by a (pretty rude) guy in the tub with us.

What would have happened if I hadn’t started that conversation?  I would have missed out on encouraging a sister in Christ and showing love to another woman who had just been ridiculed and borderline-dehumanized.  Who knows, perhaps the other two people there are thinking about spiritual things tonight because of our conversation.  Or, maybe they’re just angry they were subjected to conversation while they were trying to relax.  God works in some weird ways.  I just want to be available to him when He decides to get all weird on me again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. beth permalink
    August 15, 2011 11:05 pm

    So happy the blog is back up and running full speed ahead. Great story!

  2. August 19, 2011 8:14 am

    Yeah man, I always pray, “God, please use me more!” and then I’ll have someone ask me what one of my tattoos mean (like my tiger leaping gorge tattoo, where I could talk about all the miracles that God did in my life) and I have to decide to tell people what happened, against my will. God likes to test us sometimes, huh?

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      August 25, 2011 11:31 am

      Yeah, it usually seems to happen like that, doesn’t it? We get all pumped about being used, then when the time actually comes we freeze up. At least that’s the way it works with me. Lord, give me courage!

Leave a Reply

