Skip to content

The Day After the Day After Tomorrow

July 2, 2011

We’re now well into our final full day of Training Camp. I can’t believe how fast this week with the students has flown by, and how much they have grown over these eight short days. Personalities have blossomed, freedom has been found, and Christ’s love and forgiveness abounds. I am blown away by just how great our team is.

I’ve been out on this hayfield for four weeks now, and, honestly, it kinda feels like home. I enjoy getting into my tent at night, turning on the fan and praying for my students. I enjoy laughing with the staff during our evening meetings and random run-ins. I even enjoy the runny Malt-O and peanut butter sandwiches. There’s something special about this field. Thousands of lives have been changed over the nineteen years we’ve held Training Camp here in Lewistown. This year, I’ve been able to witness that change take place in 38 individuals.

And here’s the thing: we’re not even in Africa yet. On Monday we begin the next leg of our journey, driving up to Chicago, and on Tuesday evening we fly to London. Our lives are going to be rocked. Our souls will be shaken. We won’t be the same people at the end of the summer. God is doing an incredible work in us, and great things through us.

If you’re the praying type, I’d love it if you would pray for our travel this week. We’re all pretty tired and could use some extra rest before we leave. Also, simply for safety as we travel halfway around the world.

If you’re not the praying type, you should check it out. Jesus is pretty cool and he loves you to death. Literally.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ted johnson permalink
    July 5, 2011 1:02 am

    Thanks for the comments. I just did a google search and saw your blog. My son is Mitch. I hope he is doing well. We have been praying lots for you all, both for you as representatives of God, and for those whom you will have an everlasting impact.

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      August 13, 2011 7:09 am

      Thank you for your prayers this summer, Ted!

Leave a Reply

