Skip to content

Fruition

June 1, 2011

I had a fantastic cup of cold press this morning.  Seriously, it was great.  Just a little cream and sugar, and boom, I was in heaven.  But this blog has nothing to do with that.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about my trip to Sierra Leone (and for good reason, I head to Training Camp in less than 72 hours!).  This is something for which I’ve been preparing for quite a while.  I’ve spent the last 8 months raising support and casting the vision for my ministry, and I have an incredible team of people surrounding me financially and in prayer.  Some of my friends have even said things like “Hey, you’ve been raising support for a while, and now you get to head overseas with students!”  And they’re right, it’s been a long eight months.  But God has been preparing me for a lot longer than that.

Ten years ago I set out on my first Royal Servants team, flying across the Pacific to Sydney, Australia.  A leader on that team lived at Bethel College (now Bethel University) with her husband, who worked there, and somehow convinced me to come out to a strange place called “Minnesota” for a campus visit.  The following summer I applied and was accepted.  Following another trip with Royal Servants – this time to Turkey and Western Europe – I moved to Minnesota.  I did a couple more trips, with both my church (Brazil) and Royal Servants (The Gambia), and graduated with a degree in Biblical and Theological Studies.  I went through a pretty stressful couple years after that, years that were forming and, thanks only to God’s goodness and grace, years that made me into the man I am today.  I spent a few years working at a financial firm downtown learning some pretty important organizational and leadership skills, on a great team with a great boss.  Then, eight months ago, I quit my job.

This Saturday marks the beginning of the next season, one that God has had in mind not just for the last decade, but since before I was born, before the foundation of the world.  And I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather be than in a van, driving down to Training Camp, preparing for the arrival of hundreds of students and staff.

My God is faithful, and He’s blowing my mind.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. J.D. permalink
    June 2, 2011 12:33 am

    great post man. Bring a French Press!

  2. A & M Craven permalink
    June 2, 2011 9:49 am

    Awesome! We’re excited for you and praying for your time here & abroad!

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      June 2, 2011 10:16 am

      Thanks, guys! Can’t wait to share my stories when I get back!

  3. Beth permalink
    June 2, 2011 12:00 pm

    I’ve been honored to watch God work in your life and I’m so proud of you. I’m praying for you and the group of kids going with you. That God will grow each of you in the ways only He can and that many come to know the love of the one and only redeeming Christ through your servanthood.

    Love you son,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

