Skip to content

Notes From the Tilt-A-Whirl

May 27, 2011

Today I finished off Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl by N.D. Wilson, and I have to admit, I’m not quite sure what I thought of it.  As a piece of literature, it was incredible.  Wilson is quite the wordsmith, and is able to paint pictures with the best.  But these pictures carry far more meaning than those of a typical literary work.  Multiple times I found myself forced to stop, put down the book and ponder what I just read.

One of those phrases: “Be grateful that God loves characters, and loves characters on journeys, characters honestly striving to grow.  If someone else was delivering your lines, would you like them?  If someone else was wearing your attitude, would you be impressed?”

Another: “The world is rated R, and no one is checking IDs.  Do not try to make it G by imagining the shadows away.  Do not try to hide your children from the world forever, but do not pretend there is no danger.  Train them.  Give them sharp eyes and bellies full of laughter.  Make them dangerous.  Make them yeast, and when they’ve grown, they will pollute the shadows.”

The book itself, while starting off a bit disjointed, eventually weaves itself into a grand picture of the progression of life, finding its apex at death, where life truly begins.  The Lord speaks death, and in doing so He speaks life, into eternity.

I am grateful for Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl, and highly recommend it to anyone.

One Comment leave one →
  1. J.D. permalink
    May 27, 2011 8:09 pm

    hmmm, now I’m a bit disappointed that I didn’t finish it. It was pretty disjointed at the beginning and I couldn’t really get into it. But I’m reading through my stack fairly quick and I’m just about to get a package, so maybe I’ll have my mom throw it in. I’m not finding much to read in that vein right now. Any other suggestions?

Leave a Reply

