Skip to content

Thoughts from the North Woods, Part 2

May 17, 2011

The beauty of the woods tends to overwhelm me.  At first, I miss the city.  Well, not the city per se, but its luxuries, the hustle and bustle, the convenience of Cub Foods or a quick run to a Red Box.  But something happens that first evening, something that fully immerses me into the forest:

Darkness.
Silence.

The world around me fades.  Relationship takes over.  A quick prayer.  A night catching up with old friends around the fire.  Sleep.  Deep sleep.  A sleep that resets my mind, preparing me for the plunge into the woods.

In the morning I wake to a strange sound.  It’s familiar, like the hum of cars crossing the 694 bridge over the Mississippi.  “That can’t be right,” I think to myself as I slowly emerge from my groggy state.  “It’s too peaceful, too soothing…”  It’s the wind.  A sort of divine alarm clock, beckoning me arise and receive the day.

I’m always quite introspective up here.  Perhaps the woods act as a mental decompression chamber, a Creator-mandated prescription for relaxation.

God did a pretty good job when he created this place.  Each pine needle carefully crafted.  Each reed intentionally placed.  Perhaps he set them here for me.  Am I that significant?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Todd permalink
    May 17, 2011 4:50 pm

    Love it bro. Keep up the writing. Woodland Park is an extension of the divine mandate for relaxation for me. Every month my soul rests more and my heart grows more. Sure, the people around me here are helping, but its mainly the awesomeness of creation. The stillness. Dark. Silence. Lack of 100 awesome restaurants within walking distance(in contrast to 26th & Stevens). It was a change that took some getting used to. But it’s so good for me. Glad you had a good refreshing time up north. That rocks.

  2. thebassoflife permalink*
    May 19, 2011 10:17 am

    It’s true! You guys just need more lakes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

