Skip to content

Musings on Risk (no, not the game)

May 9, 2011

[I spent a little time writing this morning]

I trust you.  Those words are so hard to write.  They involve risk.  The involve the possibility of things not going as I hope.  But, if your will and plan brings about your greater glory, then is it really a risk?  I may risk pain.  I may risk emotional turmoil.  I may even risk my life.  But are these anything compared to God?  Are they worth avoiding simply for short-term reprieve?  Of course not.  God is God, and I am nothing before him.  He knows my name not because I am someone to be recognized, but because he chooses to know it.  He chose to name me.  He chose to create me.  He chose to know me before he spoke the world into being.  He knows Clayton because he wants to know Clayton.

So, do I risk when I put my trust in him?  Am I in danger when I surrender all of my pain and suffering to him, and allow the possibility of it continuing?  Is my life worth more than my submission to God and his sovereign will?  Seems pretty foolish, doesn’t it?

Here are some promises God makes to us:

Psalm 55:16But I call to God, and the LORD will save me.

Lamentations 3:25The LORD is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him.

Psalm 100:5For the LORD is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.

Psalm 27:13-14I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living!  Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD!

2 Samuel 7:28And now, O Lord GOD, you are God, and your words are true, and you have promised this good thing to your servant.

2 Timothy 1:7 … for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

Ephesians 2:10For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

Matthew 28:20bAnd behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.

2 Timothy 2:10Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, that they also may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus with eternal glory.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

