Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – 11.22.10

November 22, 2010

Well, I survived the conference without a gain. In fact, I’m actually down a pound. Yes, that’s shy of my 3-pound goal for this week, but, as far as I’m concerned, logging a loss after spending 4 days out-of-town and eating out for every meal is definitely a success. Also, that single pound drops me below the 300 mark. So, all in all, I’m happy with the news.

And now, onto the next challenge. As we all know, this Thursday is Thanksgiving, a day on which we not only reflect on the incredible blessings we enjoy here in America and our gratefulness for them, but one on which we celebrate our great capacity for food consumption. It’s a day when going back to the buffet line just once is celebrated as an act of great, borderline miraculous temperance (even though that second plate is usually tiered with 2 or 3 stories of food, taking on the character of a neighborhood apartment complex). A day where the holiday food groups of pie and gravy are paraded into every dining room in the nation. It also ushers in the most dreaded season of the fat guy’s year – the Holiday Season.

So, how do I respond to such great temptation? I have a few thoughts. First, I shouldn’t be afraid of the Thanksgiving meal. The truth of the matter is, I love turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy and pumpkin pie, so I’m going to have them. There’s nothing wrong with enjoying these things. But, this leads me to my second point: I don’t need to eat the entire turkey. Why? Well, other people might like some, but beside that, I’m not looking to gorge myself here, just taste some of the great things that are typically only served this time of year. Third, the point of the holiday is not to stuff myself (nor is it to see who can get to the hospital for their quadruple bypass first), but thankfulness for the many incredible blessings we enjoy every day. And finally, food will still exist on Friday. In fact, it’s likely that those same exact foods will still exist (They’ll just be sitting in zip-loc bags or old Cool-Whip containers). There’s no need to eat like we’re entering a famine.

So, that means this week’s 3-pound goal is still valid, despite the holiday.

Here are this week’s stats:

Last Monday’s starting weight: 300.6
Today’s weight: 299.6
Goal weight for next week: 296.6

One Comment leave one →
  1. brian permalink
    November 28, 2010 4:46 pm

    your openness, dedication, and honesty inspire me. i am really impressed. thanks for being awesome.:)

Leave a Reply

