Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame: Day… Who knows?

November 15, 2010

So, last week I posted a bit about my struggle with gluttony and the desire to remove it from my life.  Well, looks like something clicked, because I lost 6.4 pounds last week.  That’s not something that happens for no reason, so I’m pretty pumped about it.  I didn’t spend hours at the gym every day, and I didn’t starve myself; I simply related to food in a healthy way – i.e. I stopped eating when I was full, I didn’t eat if I wasn’t hungry and I didn’t go out to eat very much.  Simple, right?  Well, it’s been pretty dang hard for me in the past, so I’m ridin’ high on the excitement of finally being able to figure that out.  And here’s the thing – it wasn’t on my mind 24/7.  I prayed and made healthy decisions, but it came pretty easily this week.

Here’s the key – I need to build on this momentum.  After twenty-six years of extreme lack of health, I can’t just sit back and assume I’ll continue to make good decisions.  I’ll continue to pray, and I’ll continue to work through making good decisions.  I’ll be at a theology conference from Tuesday through Friday, so that might not be the easiest thing to do this week.  But, just because I’m out-of-town doesn’t mean I have to eat at a buffet for every meal, right?

So, here are the (brutal and embarrassing) stats:

Last Monday’s starting weight: 307
Today’s weight: 300.6
Goal weight for next week: 297.6

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 2:07 pm

    Yeah, but here’s the thing, dude. It will be way easier for us to be responsible when we both know it’s important to both of us. If I was going by myself I’d be eating at Baja Fresh every day for lunch, and at some BBQ joint every evening because Leslie’s not there to say, “Honey, are you sure that’s a good food choice?” But now I’ll have you to say, “Honey, are you sure that’s a good food choice?” …Or something like that.

    We’ll hit one or two good restaurants while we’re in Hotlanta. We’ll order reasonable portions (avoiding the triple rack of baby back ribs). And the rest of time we’ll hit up Subway or something else healthy.

  2. thebassoflife permalink*
    November 15, 2010 2:39 pm

    Sounds perfect. Looks like they have a sweet workout facility, too. But, we’ll see what happens with that. I’m sure I’ll be burning plenty of calories just trying to wrap my brain around what Wright is saying. Hah!

  3. Joel permalink
    November 15, 2010 5:18 pm

    Although it may not look like I know much about this, here’s what I do know:
    – portion control, healthy snacks and planning meals
    – enough sleep (often overlooked)
    – lots of water
    All three are critical to the process. This is what you can do, then pray to God that he will give you strength to keep with it.

    • thebassoflife permalink*
      November 16, 2010 8:25 am

      All great points, Joel. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

