Skip to content

Some thoughts

August 28, 2010

Amazingly descriptive title, right?

August is an interesting month, with plenty of experiences to ponder, fantastic stories and dreams that have long since passed away.  Generally, they are what they are – memories with little emotion tied to them but for a slight smile upon recalling how good some of those moments were.  But this time around, in the new and improved 2010 August, some of these memories are bombarding my mind.

I spent some time talking through this with some close friends and staff at Reign, and I’ve come to this conclusion – it’s not me coming up with these memories.  You see, I’m going into full-time ministry this Fall, and there’s a certain someone out there that isn’t too fond of the idea – yup, Satan, that little bugger who tends to mess with a whole lot of things were Christ followers are concerned.  By bringing up these memories – and myriad other issues that are long gone – he is hoping to make this as difficult as possible, and prevent me from having the energy and willpower to transition well into this new stage of life and ministry.

The devil sees me as a threat.  The threats look a little something like this:

Threat #1 – Clayton is going much deeper into his faith in Christ than ever
Threat #2 – Clayton is forming a team of people who will be supporting him financially and in prayer, who will also be encouraged to take their faith to the next level
Threat #3 – Clayton will be discipling high school guys, guiding them in the transition from boyhood to being strong men of God
Threat #4 – Clayton is going to take students around the world – infiltrating places I control – telling people about my enemy

So, is it any wonder I’m being attacked? Of course not! I consider it pure joy that I am being bombarded with these things, because it means I’m actually doing something for the Kingdom.  It doesn’t feel great, but it comes with the territory.  In fact, if I wasn’t struggling I’d probably be more concerned than I am now!

So, August, perhaps you’re full of great and now-painful memories, but that’s all they are, memories. Plus, September is right around the corner, and who doesn’t love sitting around a bonfire in jeans, a sweatshirt and flip flops?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    August 28, 2010 11:45 pm

    I can’t wait to see what God does next in your life. How He’ll use you to bring Glory to Himself and how he’ll go before you to prepare the way. Lives will be changed by God through you and Satan has already lost the war. Now that’s comforting, huh? Love you, son….

  2. Steve McHargue permalink
    September 6, 2010 9:32 am

    great thoughts. Stand firm in the truth of Gods promises. He will carry you through.

Leave a Reply

