Skip to content

Well Done

June 10, 2010

Today I had the honor of playing in the funeral of an incredible man, prayer warrior and member of Eagle Brook Church – Joel Stangeland. The service was truly a celebration and tribute to his humble, faith-filled life, with testimonies from his brother, best friend, nephew and pastor. They talked about his quirks, his habits and how his faith influenced literally everything he did. One person described the end of his life by quoting Psalm 24:3-5:

Who may ascend the hill of the LORD?
Who may stand in His holy place?
He who has clean hands and a pure heart,
who does not lift up his soul to an idol
or swear by what is false.
He will receive blessing from the LORD
and vindication from God his savior.

I felt myself become very emotional while this was being read. Part of the emotion was the memories of Joel, his praying for us before services at the Lino Lakes campus (he was there every other weekend, no matter what) and his incredible sacrifice when he supported me on a missions trip to Brazil (he handed me a check for the balance of the cost of the trip about an hour after we met for the first time). But much of the emotion had to do with the thoughts of my own life, and how my own memorial service will unfold. Will people quote Psalm 24 at my funeral? Will people see me as one with “clean hands and a pure heart”? Will people say that I ran well the race of this life? Will anyone even show up?

Joel was an incredible man, and even now, having left this earth, his faith continues to shape and inspire lives. He set a pretty high bar in this world. I will never forget him.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    June 10, 2010 10:36 pm

    Your writings always bless me, son. I love you…

Leave a Reply

