Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – Days 18-21

January 24, 2010

One simple way to see whether or not I’m doing well is whether or not I’m being open and talking about the struggle/progress.  No blog for four days mean I haven’t been doing well for four days.  Friday’s weigh-in saw a gain of 1.8 pounds.  I was expecting something like that (honestly, I was just hoping I didn’t gain back the entire 3.4 pounds I lost the previous week).  I’ve been stupid, making poor choices and not going to the gym.  But, it’s time to stop being an idiot and ignoring my complete lack of self-control.  There are some other areas in my life in which I have absolutely no self-control as well.  I’m working on those, and have some guys holding me accountable to doing so.  I’m praying God will help me apply the lessons and principles I’m learning in those areas to the area of living a healthy, God-honoring life.  I don’t want to destroy my life.  I don’t want to allow my choices to keep me from responding to the call God has placed on my life.  If God called me to do hard labor in a third-world country right now, I don’t think I would be able to do it because I’m so out of shape.  That is a serious thing.  I’ve also spoken about my inability to fast, because I don’t have self-control and cannot overcome the headaches and hunger pains that come when I don’t have sugar or a large amount of carbohydrates.  My lifestyle is impeding my ability to obey God.  That’s ridiculous and I’m TIRED OF IT!!!

So here are a couple goals I have for this week.  1) Replace two dinners with salad.  I need to start eating vegetables more often, and this is a good way to get me started.  2) Replace two lunches with vegetable soup.  This will also help me eat more vegetables and get used to smaller mid-day portions.  3) Go to the gym four times.  This will get me back in the habit of exercising and get it back to being a part of my normal routine.

I would appreciate any prayer you would be willing to throw my way.  Thanks!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cally permalink
    January 27, 2010 10:19 pm

    You can do it, Clayton! 🙂 I respect you for posting after a brief break and think your ideas to eat more veggies is AWESOME! Even though back in the day I refused to eat green M&Ms because they reminded me of vegetables (no joke!) I’ve come around to better food and think it’s delicious! So much so that I went veg 3 years ago. We should meet up sometime and cook happy food together. Thoughts? 🙂

  2. 1theophilus permalink
    January 28, 2010 5:26 pm

    Clayton, why haven’t you written in a few days?

  3. jeannie permalink
    February 2, 2010 2:49 pm

    Im pulling for you! Stay with it. I gained almost 4 pounds back since Christmas…. But I came back stong this week with a 5.2 lb loss…. You can do this too! Some weeks are easier than others… but we cant allow this to make us take our eyes off our goals….. I think you are doing great, and you are still a huge inspiration in my life. 😉

Leave a Reply

