Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – Day 9

January 12, 2010

Today I picked up the book First Place 4 Health after letting it sit on my shelf for almost a year.  It had me look up the definition of the word “persevere,” and I was pretty surprised by what I found.  I mean, I get that it basically means to endure, but the second half of the definition took me off guard.  Here it is: “to persist in a state, enterprise, or undertaking in spite of counterinfluences, opposition, or discouragement.”  Wow.  Perseverance actually assumes opposition and discouragement.  Believe it or not, this is actually quite encouraging.  Today I was feeling a bit down, didn’t want to go to the gym, and pretty much just wanted to sit around and eat.  But, I am guaranteed opposition and discouragement, so I should be expecting these feelings and temptations.  I don’t have to get even more down on myself even more because I’m having these thoughts!

So, I got up and went to the gym.  45 minutes on the elliptical (4.55 miles) and 20 minutes on the treadmill (1.11 miles), then some racquetball with my buddy Sean.  I even gave him a run for his money in one of the games, only losing by 6 points!  Of course, I lost the other two 15-1 and 15-0, but we won’t count those.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 12, 2010 11:06 pm

    I’m telling ya, those books the best! You think you’ve read a bible verse and know it’s meaning, but then, you dig deeper and there it is in black and white, a new meaning you never saw before! I’m so glad you got into it today. Good job with fighting the opposition and going to the gym anyway!

  2. January 13, 2010 5:38 am

    Dude, that is encouraging to read! I am excited for you man, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

