Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – Day 5 – First Weigh-In

January 9, 2010

Well, this morning was my first weigh-in, and, as I suspected, yesterday’s evening binge totally threw me off, and I got a big fat goose egg.  I stayed even.  Given, I’ve only been on this journey for 4 days – or at least it had only been four days when I weighed in at 6:15am.  However, I was hoping for at least some sort of loss.  The trick now is to not get down on myself, and just keep going.

My bodybugg arrived today, and I just finished registering and configuring the little thing.  It’s a lot smaller than I thought it would be, which is a bonus.  Now, I just hope it isn’t really irritating to wear all the time.  Tomorrow will be the first day I wear it and start getting the data.  Yup, I’m a nerd, I love the data.  That’s why I bought the thing – graphs and numbers help me, and having goal numbers is a huge thing.  The daily goal is 2500 calories in, 3500 calories out.  That’s always been the goal, but I’ve never been sure about what I’m actually burning, which is why the bodybugg will be so helpful.

Alright, it’s midnight, and I should be in bed.  I guess the bonus is that I’m still burning a few more calories.  🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve Boal permalink
    January 9, 2010 1:05 am

    Don’t be discouraged man, the weight will come off. One thing that helped me lose weight was a change in my eating habits. For your 3 main meals of the day eat smaller portions (quite a bit) and then have a snack in between each meal. Spreading the eating helps your body out a ton. Maybe this might not work where you work, but if it does, its worth a shot. I’m in the trenches for you on this. Keep up the good work bro.

  2. B.C. McWhite permalink
    January 9, 2010 7:53 am

    You worked hard, man. It will show on the scale eventually. Binges screw the weigh-in up if you have one the day after, but you can recover from them easily enough. The food sitting in your stomach is heavier than what your weight gain from it will actually be. In other words: Take a dump and weigh-in again.

    Boal’s right on the small portions things. That was big for me too. I try never to have seconds anymore and I always drink a whole large glass of water right before meals to cut a chunk out of my appetite. Works great. Plus, I get closer to the 8 glasses of water I’m supposed to be getting each day.

  3. Ben Rode permalink
    January 9, 2010 9:25 am

    Hi, I’m Ben Rode. You might remember me from such life roles as: college roommate and one-off sailing adventure captain. When I had ballooned up to an underly healthy football playing weight and ladies everywhere averted their eyes when I took off my shirt I stuck to a diet of sweet potatoes (a bodybuilder friend suggested them) and heroin and lost 30 pounds in 4 short weeks. Like the other guys said, smaller portions help. The heroin will reduce your appetite so you don’t need all that tasteless food.

    Hopefully this helps. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

