Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – Day 4

January 7, 2010

Well, this evening I messed up a bit and I did a bit of binging when I returned home from the gym.  Now, it was all low-fat, low-cal stuff, so it won’t set me back a lot (other than messing up my Friday morning weigh-in by eating a big meal tonight).  The problem is that I gave in to using food as a crutch.  I was tired, stressed from another bad day at work, hurting after pushing myself a bit harder at the gym tonight, and I gave in to my cravings.  I didn’t trust in God and I didn’t go to Him in the midst of my temptation.  Luckily, I serve a God who forgives and strengthens even after I screw up.

Today I did the same gym routine – 30 minutes on the elliptical (3.14 miles) and 40 minutes walking on the treadmill (3.1 mph, 2.5 incline for a distance of 2.04 miles).  I also scheduled my first personal training appointment for Monday at 6:30pm.  I’m “looking forward” to it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jeannie permalink
    January 7, 2010 8:23 pm

    dont be too hard on yourself. you are still inspiring me daily…. keep it up.

  2. thebassoflife permalink*
    January 7, 2010 8:24 pm

    Thanks. 🙂 I need to remember this is a journey, not a race. Cliche, I know, but it’s true.

  3. John permalink
    January 8, 2010 1:10 am

    Keep it up! I agree with jeannie, don’t get to hard on yourself. And yes, I keep coming each day to check in and see how you’re doing. It’s a great encouragement to see you striving for God. Makes me want to try harder myself 🙂

  4. 1theophilus permalink
    January 8, 2010 3:29 pm

    Clayton, I am proud of you and pray for continual strength and encouragement for you in this journey. I can tell you from experience that when it’s a conviction from God about how you are honoring Him with your body, and you follow what you feel He want you to do, He will bless you in it and make it easier than you’d expect. I pray that it has the seeming ease for you that I was blessed with. You are awesome!

  5. bryanmc permalink
    January 9, 2010 1:32 am

    Clayton, just started reading this and have to say that I so appreciate your ruthless honesty. I pray that more and more people in the church would be as authentically working to smash their idols as you are.
    Praying for you, buddy.
    -bryan

Leave a Reply

