Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame – Day 3

January 6, 2010

Today was a terrible day.  A person at work decided they could cuss me out in a fit of rage, which left me in a funk for the rest of the day.  My normal pattern when having a bad day is to go to Taco Bell and eat myself silly.  It’s a crutch, and one that has been pretty useful in the past, at least for small amounts of time.  But, today I fought.  Today I prayed.  Today I finally stood up to the sin of trusting in food instead of God, and I was victorious.  I ate my packed lunch in defiance.  I denied the desire to skip the gym and go down the street to Burger King.  I worked my butt off, came home and ate a Lean Cuisine for dinner.  Food is not my crutch.  Philippians 4:13 says “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  Today God strengthened me, and today I trusted Him more than I trusted food.

I decided to hit the treadmill first today.  NOT a good idea.  But, I made it through the whole planned workout – 40 minutes (2.08 miles) walking on the treadmill at 3.1 mph and a 2.5 incline, and 30 minutes (3.15 miles) on the elliptical.

In other news, do not be fooled by the “Three Meat” Lean Cuisine pizza.  The call it that not because it has three different kinds of meat, but because there are only three pieces of something somewhat resembling meat on the whole pizza.  :-/

Oh, also, my bodybugg shipped yesterday.  It left Nashville, TN this morning at 5:05am and should be arriving at my doorstep on Friday.  God speed, UPS.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Kenny permalink
    January 6, 2010 10:25 pm

    I’m proud of you Clayton. You’re definitely in my prayers. You and I must work out together sometime… I’ll put you through the wringer… Step 1: get some cardio! (which you are doing now) Step 2: build some fat burning muscle!!

  2. John permalink
    January 6, 2010 10:27 pm

    That’s awesome man. Way to persevere through the tough times and the lies that Satan wants you to believe. Keep up the hard work.

    By the way, what is a bodybugg?

  3. jeannie permalink
    January 6, 2010 10:28 pm

    keep up the good work! proud of ya!

  4. Mom permalink
    January 6, 2010 10:32 pm

    Trusting God more than food…now that’s a real eye opener to hold onto! I’m going to write that one down and put it on the fridge. No kidding, I’m gonna do it right now!
    On another note, i totally agree with the three meat pizza! Yesterday i had the lean cuisine “deluxe” pizza and i’m still trying to figure out what made it deluxe. Was it the two pieces of meat, or the 3 pieces of what looked like cheese….i just closed my eyes and pretended it was actually “DELUXE”!
    Keep up the great work and trusting in God.
    xoxo Mom

  5. B.C. McWhite permalink
    January 6, 2010 10:37 pm

    YEAH! Taco Bell SUUUUCKS! I’m with you, buddy!

  6. Schmidty permalink
    January 6, 2010 11:02 pm

    You should have bought your co-worker taco bell .. knowing you are slowly killing him. haha.. wait.. that takes the whole religious side of the story out of the equation.

    On second hand.. good work.

  7. January 7, 2010 7:41 am

    Dude, you’re going to kick our butts at weigh-in on Friday. Nice going!

  8. Tim permalink
    January 7, 2010 10:24 am

    I love you Clayton, can I be your Jillian someday and work your arse out?

  9. Sean Schuette permalink
    January 7, 2010 12:41 pm

    Clayton – thanks for sticking to the daily posts on this – it is really great to read your journey and to know how to support you in prayer – anytime you want to workout together I am game as my journey has been ongoing since Sep of 2008

    Keep it up my friend

    Sean <

  10. Jack permalink
    January 7, 2010 2:07 pm

    Clayton,

    Check out this Lori Christensen at Hope Lutheran Church here in the Twin Cities. She has some great stuff on losing weight biblically. We’re with you in the fight brother!

    Jack

Leave a Reply

