Skip to content

My Fat Equals Lame

January 5, 2010

I have decided to do a bit of an experiment.  For a few years now I’ve been trying to lose weight.  I’ve had periods of success and periods of failure, dropped pounds and gained them.  Well, today that all changes.

Here’s the deal – Every day I will post a blog documenting my success and/or failure for that particular day.  I will tell of how I was successful, or how I need to improve.  The point of all of this is to have a running record of my progress as I make 2010 the year I begin honoring God with my body.

I’ve also decided to set a couple goals for the year.  First, I want to spend 365 hours in the gym – one for each day of the year.  Second, I want to exercise a distance of 1000 miles – i.e. walk, run, bike, etc. 1000 miles.

This is going to take a lot of courage on my part.  I’m pretty embarrassed about my weight, and extremely hesitant to be transparent about it and the health issues I have because of it (I was diagnosed with Type II diabetes over a year ago, and haven’t done much about it).  Posting these things for all to see is a form of accountability – it prevents me from hiding in the darkness, wallowing in the shame of my issues, rather than living in the light of Christ.

So, here goes nothing.  My current weight is 299.2 lbs.  Let the games begin.

Day 1

I made it to the gym today, which is good for day 1.  🙂  I did 30 minutes on the elliptical machine (2.97 miles) and a few on the bike to cool down (.97 miles), bringing my day 1 total to 3.94 miles.  It’s not much, but it’s a start.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jeannie permalink
    January 5, 2010 2:57 am

    i am impressed and certainly inspired! wonder if i can match your exercise goals hmmmm 😉

  2. Mom permalink
    January 5, 2010 2:59 am

    Awesome blog today and I’m praying for you every step of the way! Not to mention you’ve inspired me! Success is yours for the taking and God will bless your socks off in the process.
    love you,
    Mom

  3. John permalink
    January 4, 2010 10:18 pm

    Very awesome bud. I wish you the best of luck in this endeavor. I’ll be cheering you on 🙂

  4. January 5, 2010 8:36 pm

    Way to go, man! Keep it up!

  5. January 5, 2010 8:40 pm

    Dude, you rock! I am excited to follow this and know that you can do it man! Keep it up!

  6. B.C. McWhite permalink
    January 5, 2010 8:53 pm

    Awesome, buddy! Great idea!

Leave a Reply

