Skip to content

Generations

October 7, 2009

On Sunday night, the Fusion community invited the seniors of New Hope Church to join us for our service.  We sang hymns (complete with an organist), prayed together, and fellowshipped with one another.  During our fellowship time, I met a man by the name of Frank.  He looked like he had lived a lot of life, but he also seemed filled with life.  He was quiet, but eager to share his story with a “young man.”  He was calm, moving very little, but always with a slite smirk on his face.  There was a quiet wisdom about him, that of a man who has seen his share of beauty and disappointment.

Forty-five years from now, I hope I’m like Frank.  I hope I’m as solid as he is, firm in my belief that God is in complete control.  I hope I am able to share my wisdom with a young, twenty-something kid, and encourage him.  I hope those in my generation are as willing and excited to share our wisdom with younger folks down the road.  I hope we continue to foster a true view of the church.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

