Skip to content

A Timely Reminder

August 15, 2009

As I was walking through the Minneapolis skyways today, I heard a voice from behind me.  “Bass player!  You play bass, right?  At Eagle Brook!”  Someone had recognized me as the bassist at my church, and it was an amazing feeling.  I said “hello” and went on my way, not thinking much of it.

This evening, I was at McDonald’s looking through the Red Box movie selection, when a couple walked in and said “Hey, you play bass at Eagle Brook, right?!”  We introduced ourselves and talked for a while, getting excited about next week’s Ignite service.  We said goodbye, parted ways, and it hit me – I’m being watched.  God was reminding me that, as a worship leader, people are watching, looking and possibly scrutinizing.  God has called me to usher His people into worship, and that puts me in a unique position of leadership.  I need to take that call seriously, and be a light to those in my community, and, well, everybody.

Father, teach me to be a light to your people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

