Skip to content

A Quarter Century

May 10, 2009

Today I am 25 years of age.

I’m pretty introspective today, thinking about the last few years, as well as all the things that have happened in the course of my short 25 year stay on this earth.  The personal computer, the internet, and the cell phone were all unheard of prior to my birth.  I remember the day we got our first computer – a Commodore 64 – complete with orange and black screen and all.  I remember spending over-nighters at our junior high leader’s house on the computer, because, after all, he had the internet, and the powerful AOL 4.0 program.  I remember the day my parents allowed me to get my first cell phone.  I was lucky if I could fit three words of a text message on it (after they created text messaging, of course).

A lot has happened in the last few years, let alone the last 25.  I was dedicated in our church; I was punched off the riser by my best friend in the children’s musical; I came in fourth place in the fourth grade spelling bee; I was honored by the Rotary Club in junior high, where I received my first dictionary; I took our academic decathlon team to a second place county finish; I graduated high school, which is a miracle on its own; I packed up my life and moved out to Minnesota; I graduated from college; I got engaged, and I survived the shattering of that relationship.

In short, I’ve been through a lot in my life.  But, it has been a good life.  As I look back, I can see ways in which God has worked in me, spots where God was blatantly manifest, and experiences I would not have survived were it not for His amazing grace.

And so I raise my glass to the last 25 years, and pray for God to bless the next 25.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

