Skip to content

Elevator Chat

March 20, 2009

I overheard an elevator chat the other day that made my blood boil.  My director (my boss’ boss) was talking with someone about how he lived off of about $8000/year in college.  He then said “$8000?  What, a month?!”

The “$8000” this guy was talking about is almost 80 times more than most people in the world make in a year.

I was fuming.  Then, I realized what a hypocrite I am.  I make much more money than I should, let alone for what I’m qualified, and how much do I give?  A measely few bucks a month?  What’s going on in my heart that makes me so critical of this guy, but is perfectly okay with not giving money myself?

Here’s the moral – I need to check myself.  I not only need to check my judgemental spirit, but also the way I handle my finances.  I make more than enough to live, so why don’t I give more?  My common excuse is that I “don’t have any.”  Frankly, that’s bull.  If I “don’t have any,” what frivolity can I eliminate so that I do have money to give, and give generously, as Christ commands?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    March 23, 2009 10:32 pm

    Don’t you just love when you learn something like this? I’m proud of you son…

Leave a Reply

