Skip to content

Altars

March 5, 2009

A pastor friend of mine often talks about building altars – creating ways of remembering times when God has broken through in your life.  God really blows my mind with Scripture, so I my “altar” is the act of recording the date of the God-just-blew-my-mind moment in the margin of my Bible.  It’s a really cool way of remembering what God has done, especially when I randomly stumble upon one of those verses in a completely different context.

In my study today, I turned to 1 Peter 5:10-11 – After you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself perfect, confirm, strengthen and establish you.  To Him be dominion forever and ever.  Amen.
The date written is 6/26/07.  What was going on then?  I was reeling from a broken relationship.  I was struggling with the most basic of Christian belief: Does God exist?  Yes.  Does He love me?  I didn’t know.  I didn’t feel like it, and I certainly didn’t know it.

Today I viewed the verse in terms of my struggle with gluttony and overeating.  It is still just as valid, just as applicable, just as powerful.  God continues to use familiar Scripture to teach and refine me.  Thanks be to God.

One Comment leave one →
  1. churchrelationships permalink
    March 5, 2009 2:08 am

    Hi
    Interesting article.Jeep up the good wokr.

    I am a fellow Christian blogger from a church relationships blog.

    Les

Leave a Reply

