Skip to content

Forgetfulness

March 4, 2009

A close family friend recently passed away due to complications from Alzheimer’s disease.    This got me thinking – was forgetfulness a part of God’s original plan for us?  Now, I’m not necessarily talking about forgetting where I left my keys or forgetting to grab a gallon of milk on the way home, but genuine forgetfulness.  Then again, maybe I am.  Perhaps that’s the merely the beginning of a bigger issue.  First you’re forgetting to pick up some groceries on the way home.  Next you’re forgetting your anniversary.  Then you’re forgetting your kids’ names.  Eventually, you don’t remember anything about anyone.

This isn’t something we normally think of as evil.  I have no idea whether or not it is.  However, watching someone slowly forget everything about their lives, and the pain it causes in that person and their loved ones… well, I’m wondering if it is.  I wonder if we’ll forget things in eternity…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

